User avatar
YEVGENICH
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: 11 Nov 2017, 04:32
Location: Kazakhstan

X-Men 2 - Clone Wars (Oct 18, 1994 prototype) question

11 Nov 2017, 04:44

Hello, Dear Hidden Palace Community and Staff! Since  X-Men 2 - Clone Wars Oct 18, 1994 prototype has a bad dump, it is completely impossible to run. I'm wondering, is there any hope to see working version or get some information about it? Is is necessary for the fan article.

PS. Does someone know, how to beat the Magneto level in May's prototype? I mean, do I need to comple some platforms puzzle and not touch Boss, or it is just bug after defeating Magnus?

Thanks in advance for Your reply! 
 
User avatar
evilhamwizard
Posts: 87
Joined: 29 Mar 2008, 00:05

Re: X-Men 2 - Clone Wars (Oct 18, 1994 prototype) question

11 Nov 2017, 07:54

Hey,

I checked the ROM out and it appears to be correctly interweaved. I think the problem is possibly a bad checksum or just an oversight in programming. I wrote a quick Game Genie code to fix it:

RE9A-A6T8

It hangs here:

ROM:00003E1A loc_3E1A:                               ; CODE XREF: sub_3D1A+D2j
ROM:00003E1A                                         ; sub_3D1A+EEj ...
ROM:00003E1A                 tst.b   d7
ROM:00003E1C                 bne.s   loc_3E20
ROM:00003E1E
ROM:00003E1E loc_3E1E:                               ; CODE XREF: sub_3D1A:loc_3E1Ej
ROM:00003E1E                 bra.s   loc_3E1E


It tests to see if d7 is 0, if it isn't - it branches to the rest of the game code. If it is, it goes to 3E1E where it loops infinitely.

As for the May prototypes, I'm not sure. Those prototypes are very early, so they might've not been finished up to that point.

I look forward to seeing the article. :)
Image
 
User avatar
YEVGENICH
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: 11 Nov 2017, 04:32
Location: Kazakhstan

Re: X-Men 2 - Clone Wars (Oct 18, 1994 prototype) question

11 Nov 2017, 08:21

evilhamwizard wrote:
Hey,

I checked the ROM out and it appears to be correctly interweaved. I think the problem is possibly a bad checksum or just an oversight in programming. I wrote a quick Game Genie code to fix it:

RE9A-A6T8

It hangs here:

ROM:00003E1A loc_3E1A:                               ; CODE XREF: sub_3D1A+D2j
ROM:00003E1A                                         ; sub_3D1A+EEj ...
ROM:00003E1A                 tst.b   d7
ROM:00003E1C                 bne.s   loc_3E20
ROM:00003E1E
ROM:00003E1E loc_3E1E:                               ; CODE XREF: sub_3D1A:loc_3E1Ej
ROM:00003E1E                 bra.s   loc_3E1E


It tests to see if d7 is 0, if it isn't - it branches to the rest of the game code. If it is, it goes to 3E1E where it loops infinitely.

As for the May prototypes, I'm not sure. Those prototypes are very early, so they might've not been finished up to that point.

I look forward to seeing the article. :)

Woooooooooooow! Thank You very much!!!!! It really works! As for the article... I planned to create it in russian, but I'l try to translate it into English.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests